The Noise. [Part 1.]

500px-20125251534_darkness

I awakened in the dark room. There was no telling how large the room was, though the heavy, black cloud of darkness surrounded me and had me feeling like I was trapped in some kind of cage. I fumbled for my lamp assuming I was at home in my bed, nothing, not even a wall to steady myself. I slowly positioned myself with my feet dangling off -what I could only hope was- my bed. Reaching, reaching, nothing. My feet couldn’t find the floor. Nauseated with acrophobia, I felt my heart rate increase… I was going to be sick. Where the hell was I?

The air around me felt cold and damp. I closed my eyes and focused on my breathing.. inhale 1,2,3,4,5, exhale 1,2,3,4,5.. this usually centers me. On my second inhale I discovered an odor I have never experienced before, somewhat musky, with hints of soil, clay, and something… something else, something very foreign. It smells of copper, a metallic, sour, yet almost sweet smell. There in the dark, My eyes popped open as I began to panic. I pat the area around me and quickly discover I’m sitting in a puddle. It’s a warm and I find that it consists of a thick liquid and sticky to the touch. I feel the sour taste of vomit rise in my throat and choke it back down. I grasp for the edges of what ever I am sitting on hands slipping, covered in this mysterious goo. I find that I have about 1-2 feet of space to my right and 3 or 4 feet of space to my left. Crawling on my hands and knees, what feels like rocks, or gravel, cuts into my palms and causes me to curse out loud.

“ouch! shit!” I immediately regret making so much noise, what if I’m in some kind of danger here? I have to be, how else would I have gotten here? I investigate further, testing the length of the space ahead of me and almost fall off the edge. I turn around slowly and retreat back where I came from, again, there’s nothing there, not a wall, just a drop to -who knows how far- down, down into more blackness. All of the sudden something falls on me. Sand? Tiny Rocks? Bugs? I don’t know, and I’m not sure I want to find out. I look up to see the smallest sliver of light peaking through and then I heard it….

..to be continued…

Leave a Reply

